District Peer Support Program

DISTRICT PEER SUPPORT PROGRAM

About the Program
Consumers and family members have identified the need for and benefit of services provided by a peer; someone who has experienced a mental illness and is knowledgeable of mental health and social services.  This is a consumer driven initiative that provides support to individuals and families who are affected by the stigma and reality of mental illness throughout the Kenora and Rainy River Districts. 

Our staff has a blend of education, training and personal experience with mental illness Through the combination of these three components, staff promote recovery; providing a supportive and safe environment where people can talk about their mental health issues without judgement and with confidentiality.

Who is Eligible
Individuals 18 years of age and older that have a personal mental health issue, or have had one in the past.

Family members of individuals with a mental health issue.

The Program Provides

  • Peer, Family and Forensic Peer Support
  • Peer Support Drop-In Centres
  • Educational Training such as Mental Health First Aid, Hearing Voices that are Distressing and Anti-Stigma Education
  • Regional Consumer and Family Conferences
  • Eight Session Family Information Support Program
  • Referral and Advocacy Services

Peer Support
Peer Support is staffed by those who have direct personal experience receiving mental health services, helping and supporting other adults with mental illness to work on their own recovery.


Family Support
When someone is diagnosed with a mental illness it can affect the whole family including the parents, children, spouses and siblings. We can help support family members and caregivers through this difficult time with education, information, individual support and more.


Forensic Peer Support
Forensic Peer Support provides support to individuals who have been, are in, or are at risk of being in the criminal justice system. Forensic Peer Support Workers provide advocacy and support as individuals focus on their paths to recovery.


Conference
Get the latest information about the Annual Consumer & Family Conference! 20th Anniversry, September 19th & 20th, 2018

Registration Forms and Nomination Forms available closer to the conference date


The Program is Offered
Throughout the Kenora and Rainy River Districts

 We promote RECOVERY and most importantly, we can provide HOPE

 For More Information contact the District Peer Support Program nearest you.

Fort Frances
612 Portage Avenue
Fort Frances, Ontario P9A 3M8
Phone: 807-274-2347
Fax: 807-274-3515
Toll Free: 1-877-311-0117 
Donna Bohler Peer/Family Support Worker dbohler@cmhaff.ca 807-274-2347 ext. 213
Kyleigh Ossachuk Peer Support Worker kossachuk@cmhaff.ca 807-274-2347 ext. 206
Sara Christiansen Peer Support Worker schristiansen@cmhaff.ca  

Kenora
St. Joseph Health Centre - 21 Wolsley St. P.O. Box 492
Kenora, Ontario P9N 3X5
Phone: 807-468-4699 ext. 7
Fax: 807-468-7628

Linda Garrison Peer Support Worker lgarrison@cmhaff.ca 807-468-4699 ext. 6
Marilyn Cann Peer Support Worker mcann@cmhaff.ca 807-468-4699 ext. 6
Maria Coleman Peer Support Development Consultant mcoleman@cmhaff.ca 807-468-4699 ext. 6
Lisa Vigfusson Forensic Peer Support Worker lvigfusson@cmhaff.ca 807-468-4699 ext. 5
Dryden
52 Van Horne Ave - P.O. Box 525
Dryden, Ontario P8N 2Z2
Phone: 807-223-8841
Fax: 807-223-8816
Philip Olson Peer Support Worker polson@cmhaff.ca 807-223-8841 ext. 225
Gina Nikolic Peer Support Worker gnikolic@cmhaff.ca 807-223-8841 ext. 224
Kameron Zawada Peer Support Worker kzawada@cmhaff.ca 807-223-8841 ext. 224
Red Lake
201-B Hammell Road, P.O. Box 1244
Red Lake, Ontario P0V 2M0
Phone: 807-727-2162
Fax: 807-727-2204
Shari Saikkonen Peer Support Worker ssaikkonen@cmhaff.ca 807-727-2162 ext. 203
Brenda Webb Peer Support Worker  bwebb@cmhaff.ca 807-727-2162 ext. 202

 


Additional Documentation